Glasgow Spammer Beware!

Over the last week I have been the victim of a rather unhelpful individual / company submitting my site to various FFA sites. Now I’m not too sure about the effect having my site included in these directories will have, if any. But its more the annoyance factor that is bothering me.

The IP address is consistent with every submission and I basically see these emails as spam. I never consented to having my company involved with these sites either via a sale or promotion. The emails were sent under false pretenses.

I find it crazy that a person / company would try this on – especially with a fixed IP Address – how do they think they will escape evasion especially with the hot-shot lawyer that I have on my side ;)

So I’m looking to the community for assistance in gathering more evidence … if anybody knows how I can further aid my case then please get in touch!


The spammers IP Address is : 86.1.***.**

Hostname : ****************************
ISP of this IP : ******* *****
City : Glasgow
Map Location

glasgow ip spammer

10 Comments

  1. Lynne Foster said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 2:56 pm

    Look on the bright side of it, instead of seeing yourself as a ‘victim’ you should turn this round full circle and instead be extremely flattered - it’s great to know we are catching the competition’s eye ;) And yes, that was a ‘we’, it’s happened to us too :D

    When I was looking into our ‘helpful visitor’ a quick IP address trace found this: 86.1.199.97 traced to: cpc2-broo2-0-0-cust864.renf.cable.ntl.com (identical to your ‘little helper’) - took me 2mins so I’m sure someone with more technical knowledge than myself should be able to help you out.

    Good luck!

  2. Michael said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 4:38 pm

    Hmm. Nasty. I dont really see what sort of damage they’re likely to do - as long as you don’t reciprocate any of the links. You must be starting to cause ripples in someones pond

  3. Claire said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 4:46 pm

    Contact abuse@ntlworld.com give them the IP they’ll be able to do something.

  4. Claire said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 4:47 pm

    P.S.

    Seems the time on your server is an hour out :)

  5. Paul said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 5:09 pm

    @ Lynne : I think you may be right!

    @ Mike : I ain’t clicked on anything but like I said its just pure annoying.

    @ Claire : thanks for the heads-up I’ll be contacting them asap and also getting the time fixed :)

  6. Lynne Foster said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

    Nice idea Claire - I just e-mailed so we will see what happens.

  7. AJ said,

    Wrote on March 27, 2008 @ 6:50 pm

    Idiocy of some people never ceases to amaze me…

    Gather the evidence and then take them down Paul.

    If somebody is cheap and stooopid enough to do something so silly then they should really be made to pay once you have all the info.

    By posting they may become aware that you are now monitoring them though.

  8. James said,

    Wrote on March 28, 2008 @ 5:14 pm

    Fools, they could of at least paid an Indian to do it, or the very least gone through a proxy.

    My old company once had a disgruntled member of staff that would send bitchy emails through out contact form. They obviously didn’t realise we attached all the remote address info, and with them being an NTL user it was reasonably easy to find out who it was. I posted a complaint to NTL as well, never heard from them but the emails did magically stop.

  9. putik! said,

    Wrote on April 3, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

    hmmmmmm.. i think what he did might actually help you.. i think.. but it might create unwanted traffic..

  10. David Hopkins said,

    Wrote on April 5, 2008 @ 9:11 pm

    FFA pages are probably the best place to go if you want to send someone or yourself spam. Unfortunatly most FFA pages get so many link bombarded to them that your link will be removed in a very short time.

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI